Username: Password:

Author Topic: WG2S Parlour Guitar (Acoustic)  (Read 21801 times)

Offline cedwards

• View Profile
WG2S Parlour Guitar (Acoustic)
« on: January 27, 2009, 09:24:23 PM »
Hey, all! Been on the forum for a couple of years but I'm pretty sure this is my first post. Total noob.

I've had, for close to 10 years now, A WG2S that my loving wife gave me for Christmas. Fell in love with this guitar at music store in Saint John and am still in love with it today (wife too!). Cost somewhere around $450 CDN back then.

I've been able to find out almost nothing about this guitar on the web. Does anyone know her well? Serial No. SC01051156. Here are some (admittedly lousy) pics:

« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 10:12:13 PM by cedwards »
Seize the Fish
WG2S, D10SCE, WI45, JM300S, Lyon L115
'70s Univox LP Copy

Offline Pike

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 12:55:40 AM »
Hi cedwards, welcome to the forum. Beautiful Washburn, could have been built for the Canadian market. Have you tried customer service for info?

Offline YerDugliness

• Pearl, TX jams at: www.pearlbluegrass.com/
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 11:07:23 AM »
If Washburn's normal practice is followed for this model, the S designation at the end would indicate the top to be solid wood.  The sides and back are most assuredly ash, and most likely laminate products.  

As for the tonewood on the soundboard, I'd almost have to say cedar.  That nice, light honey color would lead me to believe that, but at times finishes can yellow and make spruce look almost as honey-colored as cedar.  I thought I might be able to tell from the graining in the photo of the rosette, but no dice.......more photos?