Username: Password:

Author Topic: N4 saved by Legos! ...and a few questions...  (Read 3349 times)

Offline JesperT

• View Profile
N4 saved by Legos! ...and a few questions...
« on: June 28, 2009, 04:53:05 AM »
Hey, Washburners!

I just had a great day where I gave my N4 some loving. [:)]

I haven't played it much because it wouldn't stay in tune at all. I had several suspicions as to the causes of this; the Schaller/Washburn floyd was skewed: although flush with the body on the upper side, it would dip slightly into the body on the tremolo-arm side. Also I suspected it could be the strings; it had Super Slinkys on it, so I decided to change to D'Addario XL .009.-.042's just to see if this would change anything. Furthermore I was a noob when I installed these strings, so they weren't wound very prettily around the posts, etc.

To prevent the floyd from dipping into the body while changing strings (one at a time, of course), etc., I decided to block it. I got out my son's Legos, because I thought they would be good for making a stack of the required height. I made two stacks of two flat 4-by-2 blocks, and placed these in the trem-cavity on the neck-side of the floyd. As it turned out, they were just a little too thick, thus lifting the floyd slightly out of its posts! BUT: when I hastily removed the legos again, the floyd sat flush with the body on both sides! [:D] [:D]

I happily continued to install the new strings, winding them neatly around the posts, etc. I also 'drew' a bit with a pencil in the nut and bridge where the strings make contact, to further help them not to stick.

I had also decided to tune the guitar to Eb this time, since this is what Nuno does, and I wanted to try it. It sounds great, although it seems to make it easier for the low E to slip off the fretboard if I'm not careful. Anyone else experience this? Should I just buy a thicker low E?