Username: Password:

Author Topic: Comparative Consumer Reports?  (Read 1143 times)

Offline LaieLad

• View Profile
Comparative Consumer Reports?
« on: February 25, 2010, 06:18:01 PM »
I am new at searching for this kind of thing, but is there a website that offers comparative ranking or evaluation or review of the electric guitars in what I call the mid-range: not the super-expensive stuff like Gibson, Fender, and sometimes PRS and Rickenbacker--and yet not the cheapies like First Act or Squiers and so on--but the broad range of products in the middle that are often very well-made but are within an ordinary player's budget.  I am talking about companies that make excellent instruments for affordable prices, such as Washburn, Ibanez, Peavey, and Dean, and the like.  Or even Epiphone (whioh I know is owned by Gibson.)  

I own (or have owned) Washburn, Ibanez, and Gibson, but I know that most manufacturers are often making guitars overseas, and that the locations and models change rapidly in this shifting global economy.  I know that starter pack guitars are often made by a different lutherie under one brand name.  I also know that the country where a guitar is made may not mean that they are less well-made.  (Anything made in Korea, for example, is probably going to be well-crafted.)  I see a lot of discussion about the relative quality of Mexican-made Strats and American-made.  I do not know how much of it is valid.  Gretsch I know is a quality brand, but I do not about them lately.  So I want to find out about the other brands (some old adn some new to me): for example, how good are Raven West, Luna, Cielo, Aria, Godin, Michael Kelly, Crafters, Hagstrom, Aston, Ovation electrics, Jackson, BC Rich, ESP.  Some are pretty and sound crummy; some are homely but have good guts and necks.  What are the upcoming new brands?

Is there such a place where I can get some good research done?  I am in a buying mood.
Laie Lad

Offline Rocket

• View Profile