Username: Password:

Author Topic: best string's for a beginner?  (Read 10254 times)

Offline SweetSerenade

• View Profile
best string's for a beginner?
« on: March 15, 2010, 01:00:40 AM »
I have a D10M acoustic. I have heard nylon strings are good to start with. Any suggestion?

~Jinna~
~Jinna~

Wasburn D10M/CBL
68' Framus Romanze 5/103

Offline Pike

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2010, 04:12:04 AM »
A decent brand of lights (12-53 guage) would be good to start out with. Many of us prefer phosphor bronze. As important as the strings is a good setup, ensuring that the action is as good as it can be, definitly worth the money spent. Nylon strings won't work on a steel string guitar.

Offline marllr

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2010, 07:58:47 AM »
I started learning a few months ago with light phospher bronze.  The second guitar I purchased (search for GAS references) came with mediums which seemed ok for me (after couple of months of playing), but will probably stick with lights for a while as my wife and kids are flirting with playing.

Listen to Pike... I just had the guitars set up by a profesional and wish I had done that in the beginning... it is a whole different instrument... less effort, less buzz, better feel, more enjoyment!

Welcome / Enjoy!
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 08:01:14 AM by marllr »

Offline SweetSerenade

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2010, 09:25:26 PM »
I went today and had my guitar cleaned and re-strung with some Martin SP Phospher Bronze light strings. It sounds so much better! It does seem like one or two of the strings are a little buzzy though?

~Jinna~

« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 09:25:45 PM by SweetSerenade »
~Jinna~

Wasburn D10M/CBL
68' Framus Romanze 5/103

Offline marllr

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2010, 07:32:32 AM »