Username: Password:

Author Topic: New Mamber in Texas  (Read 6252 times)

Offline Texas Flatpicker

• View Profile
New Mamber in Texas
« on: July 09, 2010, 03:55:32 PM »
I am new to the forum site here. I have a Washburn acoustic, D56SWCE. I started playing the guitar with an old cheap one about 42 years ago. I dont even remember what it was but I do remember that I had to have pretty tough fingers to fret it...lol. I started playing country music and a little bit of the old rock and roll, put together a country band, had a blast with it too. Now that I have become all grown up I have advance to bluegrass and enjoy the flat pickin and speed that it offers. When my yougest son was 7, I started him on the fiddle. He is now 28 and a few years ago he migrated to the mandolin. He is the real picker in the family. His instrument has 8 strings and mine only has 6...lol.
But anyway, I have been enjoying reading the forums on here and it looks like I can learn a lot from you guys.

Offline Tio Kimo

• you're never too old to be what you might've been
    • View Profile
New Mamber in Texas
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2010, 04:34:15 PM »
Welcome. Good story, and well done getting your son to love music.

Humble and Texas. Two things you seldom see in the same sentence. LOL

Cheers!
http://www.oldtownschool.org/
'95 Washburn D-55SW Cherokee (Bourgeois)
'04 Larrivée LV-03 w/ Fishman blend
'02 Heritage 535
'12 Heritage 150
'10 Larrivée RS-2
'11 Benford Tele
'12 Kirn Barn Buster
Marshall AS50D
Little Lanilei 3350LT
Champlifier
Boogie DC-2

Offline bluegrassflatpicker

• View Profile
New Mamber in Texas
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2010, 06:37:21 PM »
Originally posted by Texas Flatpicker
looks like I can learn a lot from you guys.

You might learn more than you really want to know on some
occasions. lol

Welcome

Offline YerDugliness

• Pearl, TX jams at: www.pearlbluegrass.com/
    • View Profile
New Mamber in Texas
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2010, 07:19:21 PM »