Username: Password:

Author Topic: Prairie Song D62SW Circa 1979-80  (Read 3719 times)

Offline DaveLagadi

• View Profile
    • Dave Lagadi Music
Prairie Song D62SW Circa 1979-80
« on: May 13, 2012, 06:42:05 PM »

I have a 1980 or 1981 Washburn Prairie Song D62SW Serial# 831258.  I purchased it new in Anchorage Alaska in 1981 at the local music store there.  As a jazz musician I seldom played it and it has been in tow from AK to NC to FL and back to NC never leaving it's case except for a minimal strum.  It's spruce as turned a lovely honey tone. 

Back in the early 90's I noticed a small surface crack on the spruce from the bridge to the bottom. I sent it in to the factory in Chicago and they did a nice repair then a few years later another one in an identical spot opposite below the bridge occurred and the entire neck moved inward into the body about 1/8th of an inch!  It hasn't affected the sound, playability or intonation but I fear it will lower the value which is a shame for such a beautiful instrument.  I am wondering if anyone else has had this problem with their Prairie Songs? 

Not sure what to do with it.  Sounds as good, if not better than  any Martin I have ever owned or played.  Not sure what to ask for it if I decided to sell it.  Any thoughts out there by Prairie Song pundits?

Thanks DL
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 07:11:57 PM by DaveLagadi »

Offline t.y.

• Loud pipes save lives
    • View Profile
Re: Prairie Song D62SW Circa 1979-80
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 08:17:47 PM »
Welcome. I wonder if yours might not be a 1978. as your first number is a 8.  As for value, there are those on here that no the book price, so I don't comment on those. I wonder how much the repairs will impact value though. Did you have humidity problems?I know that to get a good estimate, you will need some good pictures. Around here most use photobucket.com, than post pic's or link here. Tom   :)

Offline f-holes

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 09:21:25 PM »