Username: Password:

Author Topic: BB4 knobs, pickups, and intonation  (Read 3735 times)

Offline bentstavanger

• View Profile
BB4 knobs, pickups, and intonation
« on: October 25, 2012, 05:33:50 AM »
Hi everyone,

I recently bought a "new" BB4 that had been sitting in the store for years. The guy who sold it to me, didn't know anything about basses, and there was no box or manual or anything. I couldn't find anything on this site either, and since I'm quite new to bass playing myself (this is my first bass, but I have been playing keyboard professionally for 30 years), I have a few questions:

1) How are the knobs used? This is what I figured out so far, but I would like to get it confirmed: the knob closest to the neck is master volume, the knob in the middle is the balance between the pickups, and the stacked knob, closer to the bridge, is for bass and treble, the larger for bass and the smaller for treble...?

2) The "rings" on the stacked knob are kind of askew. Can I loosen them myself with an Allen wrench to set them straight?

3) The guy in the store wasn't sure, if the pickups could operate in passive mode. He said maybe I could push or pull or something on the stacked knob, to change from active to passive. I tried fooling around with the knob, but nothing happened. I reckon he was probably thinking of the more expensive instruments from Washburn. Anyone has some idea what he was talking about?

4) On the back of the instrument it says Buzz Feiten Tuning System, but in the old Washburn catalogue it says the Bantams do NOT come with Buzz Feiten. I was under the impression, that Buzz Feiten were only used for guitars and other string instruments tuned in irregular intervals, and as such not applicable for basses. Am I mistaken?