Username: Password:

Author Topic: AB 20 Questions  (Read 3738 times)

Offline calchase

• It Iz What it Iz
    • View Profile
AB 20 Questions
« on: October 19, 2013, 06:17:09 PM »
Hola! New here....

I don't know much about AB 20s, except that there is no way I cannot own the one I have taken for the weekend to try.

You know how some instruments just pop alive in your hands? I may be possessed ........can't keep my hands off it.

I started playing stuff from a 70's metal band I was in that I haven't played in a long time.

Awesome tone, love the neck.......named it already and I haven't paid for it yet!!

Anywho, What is the Dif between a AB 10 and a AB 20? I don't see a AB 20 on the Washburn site, do they not produce that model any more?
The owner thinks it's 10 years old, ser # SG107562. I read some posts here about year produced from the serial#, but nothing positive.

The instrument is pristine as he never played it and it has been in its case most of it's life, he's a drummer, what can I say? He wants $600 said he payed $900. Seems high but I don't know these basses, and I will probably give him what he wants at this point....What do you think of the price?

Thanks for any help! Cal
The bass player's function, along with the drums, is to be the engine that drives the car... everything else is merely colours.
Suzi Quatro

Offline t.y.

• Loud pipes save lives
    • View Profile
Re: AB 20 Questions
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 07:28:51 PM »
 Welcome. The first 2 numbers are almost always the year, on a 8 digit number. A 2001 would put it about 10 yr.   on a 6 digit it can be just the first number.   The model numbers can stand for the diff woods or electronics. And price levels, and so on.  The letters can stand for factory, and country of origin.  Not sure on yours.  Use the search tab above, there should be good info on the AB series of guitars.  I" believe" the AB stands for acoustic bass.    Tom.  :)

Offline t.y.

• Loud pipes save lives