Username: Password:

Author Topic: Just ordered my WD10SCE  (Read 3245 times)

Offline BrownBucks

• View Profile
Just ordered my WD10SCE
« on: December 15, 2013, 06:46:50 PM »
This is my first post. I have  never played a guitar and will start tomorrow when it arrives. I did a lot of research before purchasing the WD10SCE, and for the price it looked like the best choice. I will let you know what I think after playing it for a few weeks.

Any words of wisdom for a newbie?

Thanks,
Ed
Thanks,
Ed

Offline evenkeel

• View Profile
Re: Just ordered my WD10SCE
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2013, 08:16:08 PM »
Welcome to the forum and welcome to the journey of guitar playing.  I've been playing for over 45 years.  Largely self taught.  If I could do only one thing over and make only one suggestion....  Get a good teacher.  Lessons from a good instructor will start you off on the right track, versus the gazillion bad habits I've developed over the years.

Second bit of advice, patience.  You can become mediocre quickly.  Good will take a bit more time.

Offline t.y.

• Loud pipes save lives
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2013, 11:38:48 AM »
Welcome. Also have your teacher or a friend that plays or a guitar tech, check the set up on your guitar. A new guitar should be real close, but a poorly set up guitar is harder and more frustrating to play.   I had a WD10S and it played well rite out of the box.   You Tube has lots of free lessons.   Tom.  :)

Offline YerDugliness

• Pearl, TX jams at: www.pearlbluegrass.com/
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2013, 10:41:24 PM »
If I had to identify one thing that improved my playing, it would have to be jamming with others who are more skilled than am I.  It's a great way to learn new technique and steal licks from the players!