Username: Password:

Author Topic: Washburn PXM18EB Review  (Read 7557 times)

Offline mrfrisky330

• View Profile
Washburn PXM18EB Review
« on: January 29, 2014, 07:28:57 AM »
This is the first Parallaxe guitar I have bought, having been well and truly seduced by the web site I decided to take the plunge an buy one.

I chose the PXM18EB as I used to have an ESP SC608B and missed having an extended range guitar, yes I could bag an Ibanez RG8 for less than $500 but preferred the Washburn simply because the spec seemed like a dream, and offered a heck of a lot more than the established mainstream competition plus I remember Washburn necks as always being slim and playable.

First impressions - they got the bridge right!
My old ESP SC608B had some major issues due to build quality (it was the first batch mass produced I have no experience of the current model on sale)  first the nut wasn't cut properly so the F# string was almost sitting on top of the nut. Secondly the ESP locking tuners were obviously taken from their 6 string range and had added two extra, not accounting for the larger size of the bottom two strings. This meant changing the F# and B string was difficult the F# barely fitted into its string hole!

Other major issue was the bridge, they had not compensated for the extra scale length which made setting the intonation on the low B very hard and F# impossible, this coupled with the fact it has no neck pickup really tainted what was at the time a $1800 guitar :(

What about the Washburn? Bridge spot on, nut perfection, tuners lovely, intonation amazing thanks to the Buzz Lightyear tuning system :) Ok so what about the 8 string Achilles heel the neck size? Well comparing to the official figures from Ibanez's top flight 8 string the RG2228 here is how it pans out:

Width at first fret:
RG2228
54mm
PXM18EB
54mm

Thickness at first fret:
RG2228
20mm
PXM18EB
18mm

Width at last fret:
RG2228
80mm
PXM18EB
75mm(!!)

Thickness at last fret:
RG2228
21.5mm
PXM18EB