Username: Password:

Author Topic: WI-66V: first impressions  (Read 1021 times)

Offline Tony Raven

• View Profile
WI-66V: first impressions
« on: October 14, 2015, 10:07:32 PM »
Like I need another guitar... but, for $200 (+s/h), I couldn't run away fast enough. Korea 2002, in a lovely burgundy (or whatever the hell it was called that season) & thick-bound top -- too bad those wing inlays ain't abalone, but wtf. :(

Sure, it's got a 1" ding above the jack; a nick on the back of the horn, too. And the nut has never been properly cut to height, with the high E taller than the B.

This is my first Idol, though I've been hoping to try one for a few years. I prefer Tele over (full-size) Strat, & the Idol body seemed to be a well-engineered melding of Tele & LP.

I've never been a big fan of the Les Paul due to weight issues, while I've had much affection for the SG. My first impression is that the 64V feels like an SG (though hanging much better!) but looks much like a flash LP. In fact, I'd say it adds some of the classic LP's richness to the SG leanness.

The twist here is the vibrato, a modified synchro style. The externals appear to be the same as used on the X-33, with extra metal on top surrounding the slugs on three sides. (I really wish, though, that this had been gold-plated, because that's a large chunk of bright chrome in the midst of all that color!) Though this unit adds some metal, the spring & block routs take out a big chunk of mahogany, making the 66V even more of a hybrid, with similarity to the modern chambered-body LP.