Username: Password:

Author Topic: Changing Strings AGAIN!  (Read 2049 times)

Offline 1 Cal

• View Profile
Changing Strings AGAIN!
« on: November 03, 2006, 06:20:29 PM »
I seem to have gotten the urge for more POWER... so I just changed up to Medium (D'Addario EJ17s) strings.  Hey, the sound is GREAT [:D].

I guess I'm taking advantage of my new thick calluses.  Although I'm still a rank beginner the improved sound makes me feel good (and the heavier strings give my fingers a better workout).  Maybe we should make a follow on from Arnie’s “Pumping Iron” movie with PUMPING STEEL!

WHICH STRINGS IS THE GUITAR DESIGNED FOR?
I checked with Customer Care who reckoned lights (e.g. D'Addario EJ16s) but mediums shouldn't be any problem (maybe a small truss rod adjustment if required).

STRING CHANGE PROBLEMS...
I found the double winding at the end of the 6th (bass E 0.056) string made it just too wide to slide inside the bridge pin (it jammed stuck there) so I had to file the slot in the pin a little bit wider, to let the string ride up, so that the ball came into contact with the underside of the bridge (instead of just dangling inside the guitar body).
This was my second string change with the Pro-Winder which is great for quick winding and string snipping (without needing to get pliers or a snip out of the toolbox)... BUT, first time round I used the Bridge Pin puller like a lever and made small marks on the bridge with it.  (The marks are probably so small no one but I would notice them, but gee I was sad [:(].)  This time I still levered the pins out, but sat the tool on a pick to protect the bridge.

SUMMARY
I’m glad I did it and I’m pleased with the result.  The action is still very low (hardly any change at all [I checked, before and after, with the steel ruler]).

Cal
Washburn R308S

Offline 1 Cal

• View Profile
Changing Strings AGAIN!
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2006, 06:41:49 PM »
Very pleased to be of help Shiner [:D].

ONE FOR YOU: