Username: Password:

Author Topic: slap tips please  (Read 1657 times)

Offline Abraxxus

• View Profile
slap tips please
« on: April 22, 2004, 10:03:35 PM »
Hey anyone got any tips on playin slap? i really need to learn because the band is tryin to learn a new song and im holding them back.

thanks

Offline clutch

• View Profile
slap tips please
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2004, 03:00:37 PM »
one thing i found,(im just learning slap aswell) is that super soft strings are best,i use the side of my thumb against the end of the fretboard,aswell as my other fingers.everybody to their own i guess. best get other opinions though.hope it helps

clutch
Longscale?,or Short?

Offline Abraxxus

• View Profile
slap tips please
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2004, 09:59:33 PM »
thanks dude that helps alot. the soft strings really make a difference

Offline clutch

• View Profile
slap tips please
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2004, 03:50:54 PM »
yeah i know.most gigs we do i have hard strings on but i love the super softs.d'darios are some of the best ive played with.hope it helps.oregon your from?far from me so in little ireland.ha ha

clutch
Longscale?,or Short?

Offline Abraxxus

• View Profile
slap tips please
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2004, 10:42:41 PM »
yea dude I use hard strings they usually work pretty good. little Ireland huh? thats a way out there.

Offline Mahutma

• View Profile
slap tips please
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2004, 12:02:40 PM »
Soft strings never tried those, ive used Ernie ball slinkies, and Dean markley BLue steels, want to give me any companies of Soft strings ide like to give em a shot, also do they come in flat wound? i want to try those out as well. Thankee

Offline clutch

• View Profile
slap tips please
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2004, 03:09:58 PM »
soft strings,,,em im using D'Addario super soft xl's.find they are bast and give a great sound for all types of music.hope this helps. by the way,,which do you think is better short scale or long scale basses?