Username: Password:

Author Topic: So what's the difference?  (Read 2527 times)

Offline Mountaineermaniac

• View Profile
So what's the difference?
« on: December 05, 2009, 07:58:11 AM »
Hello all.  I am new to the banjo scene and am currently looking for a nice starter banjo, but I also want a quality instrument.  I am curious to know what is the difference between an Oscar Schmidt OB-5 and a traditional Washburn B-9?  Is it kind of like a Squire v.s. Fender or what?  Also, the B-8 banjo that comes with Washburn's starter pak, how does that instrument measure up?  How does a Gibson M-200 measure up to a Washburn B-9?  Just curious, thanks for any help you might be able to provide.  I am just throwing out these models because it seems as though they were all recommended as nice starter banjos.  I really don't know anything about the J. Reynolds, Trinity River or Johnson banjos.

Offline gregjones

• Perpetual Beginner
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2009, 07:46:34 PM »
He used the words nice and banjo in the same sentence, without fire or explosion!!!!

[:0]
If it's got tuners, tits, or tires----it's gonna cost you.

"There are no wrong notes, only advanced harmonies." - Frank Zappa

Offline Junior88

• The young gun
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2009, 08:06:23 PM »
Heh heh, Please excuse Greg.. Us Mandolin players have something against snare drums with 2x4's attached to em...

Just ribbin with ya, but im sure someone will be along to help.

The small, but mighty collection:
Washburn N2, Barracuda Strat Copy, Art & Lutherie Acoustic, Greg Bennet D-5 Acoustic,Rover RM-50B Mandolin

Offline magoo99

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2009, 08:17:39 PM »
Hey mountaineer, Welcome the the WBF. i think the OS  and the washburn is the same as the Gibson/epi kind of thing...IMO, Gibson is in its own class when it comes to Banjos..no real comparison there.